The Bowes Museum

bowes museum

Founded by John and Joséphine Bowes, The Bowes Museum opened to the public in 1892 and has been delighting groups ever since.

John Bowes, the illegitimate son of the 10th Earl of Strathmore, was a successful businessman who inherited his father’s wealth but not his title. In 1847 he moved to Paris and met Joséphine Coffin-Chevallier, an actress who became his wife. Their shared love of art led to the creation of a world-class museum in Teesdale, the place of John’s birth.

Built in the style of a French château and sitting in the very English countryside of County Durham, the Museum contains the greatest collection of European fine and decorative arts in the north of England. To complement these collections, the Museum offers an acclaimed exhibition programme, which this year includes: North Country Quilts: A Celebration of New Acquisitions; Paul Scott: New American Scenery, and The adventures of Clara.

Café Bowes has recently been refurbished in a classical French style to reflect the Museum’s heritage and now offers a sensational, locally sourced, seasonal menu.

One of Britain’s most fascinating museum experiences, offering high quality, bespoke packages to cater for all your groups’ needs.

For general enquiries please contact Reception on +44 (0) 1833 690606
info@thebowesmuseum.org.uk
The Bowes Museum, Barnard Castle, Co Durham DL12 8NP
thebowesmuseum.org.uk